Volunteer Recognition

2020 state parks volunteer award winners

While 2020 may be a year that most of us would like to forget, here at Washington State Parks we’re fondly looking back at the incredible accomplishments and contributions of our dedicated volunteers. During a time when we all needed extra help and support, our volunteers showed us what a difference we can make through volunteering. Nominated and chosen by park staff, we proudly recognize the following Volunteer Award recipients for their outstanding commitment and acts of service in 2020.

VOLUNTeer of the Year

Carol Bromel (Deception Pass State Park)

Host of the Year

Lynn Stephens (Cape Disappointment State Park)

rookie host of the year

Peter Damski & Dawn Castiglione (Rasar State Park)

Volunteer group of the year

Cama Beach Foundation (Cama Beach Historical State Park)

outstanding contributionS by Volunteers

Suzanne (Zan) Manning (Fort Worden Historical State Park)

James Gomon (Jarrell Cove State Park)

Outstanding Contribution by a Group

Friends of Saltwater (Saltwater State Park)

significant volunteer achievement

Bill Appleton (Fort Worden Historical State Park)

good Samaritan award

Greg Walsh (Blake Island State Park)

Kyle Anderson (Lincoln Rock State Park)

stewardship hero

Mike Shaw (Rasar State Park)

Robert Leber (Saltwater State Park)

certificates of appreciation

Martin (Lee) Walker (Brooks Memorial State Park)

Connie Spangler (Fort Flagler Historical State Park)

Rory Wallgren (Deception Pass State Park)

David Thomas (Belfair State Park)

Will Barrett (Fort Worden Historical State Park)

Blaine & Rebecca Housden (Lake Chelan State Park)

Ron Young (Millersylvania State Park)

Learn more about our 2020 volunteer award winners!

Volunteer Thank You