Many recreational boaters in Washington are required to complete an approved boating safety education course and carry a Washington State Boater Education Card.
Whether you cruise, sail, kayak, fish, or do yoga on a stand-up paddle board, you need to know the laws and basics of boating safety. We encourage you to take an education course, even if you're not required to carry a card.
The Washington State Boater Education Card is valid for your lifetime and meets requirements for recreational boating in Canada and many other states.
After passing an approved course or exam and receiving your completion certificate, you must submit a Boater Education Card Application and a copy of your certificate along with a check or money order for $10 to the address below. Some online course providers will handle this step for you and may charge an additional handling fee.
Then mail your completed application packet and processing fee to:
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission Boating Program P.O. Box 34333 Seattle, WA 98124-1333
Your card will be mailed within three to four weeks. If you haven't received your card within 90 days, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or (360) 902-8555.
Are you relocating from another state? Do you already have a boater education card?
If yes, then contact us to verify the card you have is valid in Washington.
If you possess a valid education card from another state, then you can skip step one and move to step two. Submit a Boater Education Card Application and a copy of your card along with $10 and we'll issue you a Washington state card.
You may apply for a replacement Boater Education Card if your legal name has been changed, you need to correct personal information, or your card was lost, stolen, or destroyed. The fee for a replacement card is $5.